America the Beautiful Coins

There are no products matching the selection. Clear filters

History of America the Beautiful Coins

The America The Beautiful Quarters Program was inspired by the 50 State Quarters Program released in 1999 by the United States Mint. Each coin featured one the 50 U.S. states with unique reverse and obverse depictions of treasured sites. Five coins were released each year until 2008. Later, in 2008, America The Beautiful quarters were authorized for minting once again by the US Congress as part of the America’s Beautiful National Parks Quarter Dollar Coin Act. Unlike its previous program, where the unique images of US main landscapes were placed on the reverse side of the standard quarters, coins issued in the second series are minted on brand-new blanks.

The America The Beautiful Silver Quarters series is a program of 56 coins, which has released five new coins every year since 2010. The program is slated to continue until 2021, and features each of the 50 U.S. states, Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the US Virgin and Northern Mariana Islands, along with the Washington DC federal district. The design of each coin’s reverse was chosen collaboratively between the US Mint, the Secretary of Interior, the Secretary of Treasury and the chief executives of state jurisdictions. Each of the chiefs submitted four total locations from which were selected only the most historically relevant national places.

About America the Beautiful Coins

The America the Beautiful quarters are available in both proof and bullion versions for collectors and investors. The difference between them is that proof coins have a matte finish, bear the mintmark of the U.S. Mint facility which struck the coin, and are shipped in individual plastic capsules along with a U.S. Mint box. The bullion version of the coins have a mirror-like finish and are shipped in mint tubes of 10 coins per tube or 100 coins per monster box. America The Beautiful Quarters contain .999 fine silver, have a total weight of 5 oz. and a 3-inch diameter, which is five times bigger than the standard 25 cents coin in circulation.

Design of America the Beautiful Coins

The obverse side of the America The Beautiful coins feature the depiction of a left-profile image of George Washington, which was created by John Flanagan in 1932. The image is based on an original Washington bust made by William Cousins in 1786, and this design has appeared on the obverse of U.S. quarters for over 80 years. The obverse also contains the inscription: “United States of America”, “Liberty”, “In God We Trust”, and “Quarter Dollar”.

On the reverse sides of these coins are featured US national parks, forests, and historic monuments. Only California, Arizona, and South Dakota landscapes kept the same representative images as on the original coin series. The reverse also contains the engravings of the state, the park’s name, the mintage year, and the words “E Pluribus Unum”. Each year, the US Mint issues five new designs depicting landmark images of the established five US states.

Here is the complete list of this outstanding US silver coin series:

  • Arkansas - Hot Springs National Park (2010)
  • Wyoming - Yellowstone National Park (2010)
  • California - Yosemite National Park (2010)
  • Arizona - Grand Canyon National Park (2010)
  • Oregon - Mount Hood National Forest (2010)
  • Pennsylvania - Gettysburg National Military Park (2011)
  • Montana - Glacier National Park (2011)
  • Washington - Olympic National Park (2011)
  • Mississippi - Vicksburg National Military Park (2011)
  • Oklahoma - Chickasaw National Recreation Area (2011)
  • Puerto Rico - El Yunque National Forest (2012)
  • New Mexico - Chaco Culture National Historical Park (2012)
  • Maine - Acadia National Park (2012)
  • Hawaii - Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (2012)
  • Alaska - Denali National Park (2012)
  • New Hampshire - White Mountain National Forest (2013)
  • Ohio - Perry’s Victory and International Peace Memorial (2013)
  • Nevada - Great Basin National Park (2013)
  • Maryland - Fort McHenry National Monument and Historic Shrine (2013)
  • South Dakota - Mount Rushmore National Memorial (2013)
  • Tennessee - Great Smoky Mountains National Park (2014)
  • Virginia - Shenandoah National Park (2014)
  • Utah - Arches National Park (2014)
  • Colorado - Great Sand Dunes National Park (2014)
  • Florida - Everglades National Park (2014)
  • Nebraska - Homestead National Monument of America (2015)
  • Louisiana - Kisatchie National Forest (2015)
  • North Carolina - Blue Ridge Parkway (2015)
  • Delaware - Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge (2015)
  • New York - Saratoga National Historical Park (2015)
  • Illinois - Shawnee National Forest (1 Feb 2016)
  • Kentucky - Cumberland Gap National Historical Park (4 Apr 2016)
  • West Virginia - Harpers Ferry National Historical Park (6 Jun 2016)
  • North Dakota - Theodore Roosevelt National Park (29 Aug 2016)
  • South Carolina - Fort Moultrie (Fort Sumter National Monument) (10 Nov 2016)
  • Iowa - Effigy Mounds National Monument (6 February 2017)
  • District of Columbia - Frederick Douglass National Historic Site (3 April 2017)
  • Missouri - Ozark National Scenic Riverways (5 June 2017)
  • New Jersey - Ellis Island (28 August 2017)
  • Indiana - George Rogers Clark National Historical Park (13 November 2017)
  • Michigan - Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore (2018)
  • Wisconsin - Apostle Islands National Lakeshore (2018)
  • Minnesota - Voyageurs National Park (2018)
  • Georgia - Cumberland Island National Seashore (2018)
  • Rhode Island - Block Island National Wildlife Refuge (2018)

If you have questions about the America the Beautiful Quarters Program, we encourage you to call us at 800.852.6884. Our customer service representatives are also available by email at [email protected], or through use of our websites live to chat feature.