British Silver Coins

About British Royal Mint

The Royal British Mint, formerly the London Mint, is one of the most prestigious mints in the world and has been producing coins for the United Kingdom and various other countries for centuries.  In 2013, the Royal Mint produced about 15% of the coin-based currency in the entire world. Besides minting circulating coins, the British Royal Mint also strikes bullion and commemorative British silver and gold coins, as well as military and commemorative medals.

Through its more than 1000 years of precious metals mintage, the Royal Mint has faced numerous difficulties, both historical and technical, in attempting to adopt the latest innovative techniques. The mint’s state-of-the-art technologies and equipment guarantee that you will receive British Silver coins of only the highest quality. Collectors and investors all over the world are thrilled to own these impressive pieces of  British coinage since British silver coins are some of the most astonishing silver coins available on the precious metals market.

Silver Britannia Coin

The most popular British silver coin is without a doubt, the elegant Silver Britannia coin. The symbol of Great Britain’s glorious history and majesty, Britannia, is depicted on the reverse of the coin, standing and holding a trident and shield while wearing a Corinthian helmet. The name Britannia was given by the Roman soldiers over 2,000 years ago to the British Isles and its inhabitants. However, today Britannia is taken on the personification of a goddess along with the guardian of the British Islands. The obverse of the coin features the profile picture of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

Silver British Lunar Coins

Another famous British silver coin collection is the Lunar series. Their design celebrates the Chinese Zodiac and includes 12 coins stuck with the representation of each zodiac animal on their obverse. The first released coin from this series was the Year of the Horse in 2014, followed by the Year of the Goat in 2015, the Year of the Monkey in 2016, and the Year of the Rooster in 2017. The remaining 8 zodiac symbols (the dog, the pig, the rat, the ox, the tiger, the rabbit, the dragon and the snake) will be minted over the course of the next eight years. Each animal of the Royal Mint Lunar coins was designed by the remarkable Chinese-British printmaker, Wuon-Gean Ho. These stunning coins are highly desired by collectors and investors for the outstanding gift for special occasions they make.

Silver Queen’s Beasts Coins

The newest silver coin series from the Royal British Mint, the Queen’s Beast series, was introduced in 2016 and instantly became a huge success. These superb coins are each issued from 2 troy ounces of .9999 fine silver, the first time the mint has issued a coin of this weight. The series showcases the ten heraldic beasts that stood guard at the coronation ceremony of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II  in Westminster Abbey in 1953. Designed by the talented Jody Clark, their reverse depicts the following beasts:

For any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us by phone at 800.852.6884, by email at [email protected], or connect with us via our live online chat portal.